The Houston Sun’s Endorsement


Sun recommends the following candidates to the offices they are seeking because after review of their candidacy, they will serve the public best.


President and Vice President

Hillary Clinton/Tim Kaine

United State Representative, District 9

Al Green

United State Representative, District 18

Sheila Jackson Lee

United State Representative, District 29

Gene Green

Statewide Texas

Railroad Commissioner

Mark Miller


Judge, Supreme Court, Place 3

Debra Lehrmann

Judge, Supreme Court, Place 5

Dori Contreras Garza

Judge, Supreme Court, Place 9

Eva Guzman



Chief Justice, 1st Court of Appeals:

Sherry Radack

Justice, 1st Court of Appeals, Place 4

Barbara Gardner

Justice, 14th Court of Appeals, Place 9

Tracy Elizabeth Christopher

District Judge, 80th Judicial District

Larry Weiman


District Judge, 125th Judicial District

Kyle Carter


District Judge, 127th Judicial District

R.K. Sandill


District Judge, 129th Judicial District

Michael Gomez

District Judge, 133th Judicial District

Jaclanel McFarland

District Judge, 151th Judicial District

Mike Engelhart

District Judge, 164th Judicial District

Alexandra Smooth-Hogan

District Judge, 337th Judicial District

Renee Magee

District Judge, 351th Judicial District

Mark Kent Ellis



Harris County


District Attorney

Kim Ogg

Judge, County Civil Court at Law No. 1

(unexpired term):

Clyde Raymond Leuchtag

County Attorney

Vince Ryan


Ed Gonzalez

County Tax Assessor-Collector

Ann Harris Bennett


Houston ISD, Proposition 1







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.